North Greece Fire 96th Annual Awards Banquet Held


50 years in any organization is a monumental milestone. Three North Greece members were recognized for this great accomplishment at the 96th Annual Awards Banquet held on April 28, 2018. Thomas Piazza was given a brass plaque honoring his 50 years with the North Greece Fire Department. He is a current volunteer firefighter who has also held the position of Lieutenant, Captain, twice elected Fire Chief, District Fire Commissioner and is still an active lifelong member of the Department softball team. What a great life of service as a firefighter to our community! Patricia Williams and Sheila Williams were both honored for 50 years of service to the North Greece Auxiliary. These two special auxiliary members have been a tremendous support to both the firefighters and their community and we are grateful for their dedicated service. Three other auxiliary members were presented with years of service recognition: Patricia Feeney for 5 years, Lisa Dugan for 5 years, and Debbie Grace for 35 years.

This was the first year for the “Chief’s Award” given to Lt. Jeff Kridel for his many hours and tireless efforts as a volunteer firefighter. Chief Sam DeRosa also awarded Firefighter John Riola with the distinguished “Firefighter of the Year.”

Unit commendations were given to two different groups to recognize valiant efforts during fire incidents. Captain Bill Lawrence, Lt. Jeff Gates, Firefighter John Amo, and Firefighter Mike Castronovo were recognized for their efforts at the scene of a motor vehicle accident with a person trapped and seriously injured on the Parkway that had a positive outcome for a local high school student. And, Lt. Bryan Adams, Firefighter Andy Young and Firefighter Adam Ball were commended for their efforts at a structure fire where a firefighter became trapped in the basement.

An award for “Distinguished Service” was given to Class I Firefighter David Falkner. He acted quickly, remaining steadfast by his lieutenant when a “MAYDAY” was called as the floor collapsed under Lt. Dean Meyers at the scene of a house fire. Lt. Meyers received a Medal of Valor for his part in this same incident. Even though he had fallen through the floor into the basement his training and mental conditioning allowed him to remain actively involved in this incident while being held up by his SCBA straps from the first floor by Firefighter Falkner.

Fire Police Captain Keith Meyer received recognition earlier this year by being presented with the Gordon Mosher Award by the Monroe County Volunteer Fire Police Association.

Other district staff were presented with years of service recognition in 5-year increments:
o FF Thomas Clark – 15 Years of Active Service
o Lt. Todd Smith – 15 Years of Active Service
o Lt. Joseph Lissow – 15 Years of Active Service
o Thomas Chugg – 15 Years of Active Service
o Lt. Bryan Adams – 10 Years of Active Service
o Lt. Steve Carter – 10 Years of Active Service
o Lt. Jason Klein – 10 Years of Active Service
o Tina Gretzinger – 10 Years of Active Service
Recognizing the past years efforts is a vital part of the North Greece organization. Chief DeRosa has recognized the need for growth and motivates all to “Welcome the new North Greece!”